Insidecy


Shopping For Engagement.
December 18, 2007, 12:18 am
Filed under: Friends, Thoughts

I had a fun little chat with my friend Emily tonight. I just found out from her boyfriend, now fiance, that they got engaged this past Saturday. This recent development brings a sad realization: My two best guy friends from High School are now both engaged and I’ve never even been in a serious relationship.

I don’t know what the deal is. I think my standards are just really high. Maybe unrealistically high. I feel that when I get attracted to a girl, I find something about them or some sort of habit that really just puts me off. I don’t think that they’re annoying or stupid, I think I feel that it would bug me in a relationship. I don’t know.

Anyway, I told Emily that I believe the right girl will come along when I’m ready. I guess that’s a good way of putting it. Emily’s a great friend and she knows how to cheer me up…

me: I need to get back to studying

Emily: oh okay

me: haha, my roommate just said, “You need to go engagement shopping”

Emily: haha

me: he’s kinda rich and just buys everything

Emily: no need my friend

me: so it’s really funny in the context

Emily: that is funny

me: but yeah, I try not to be all self-pity and whatever. She’ll come along when I’m ready. That’s how I look at it

Emily: you shouldn’t. You’re only 20 years old. There’s no time limit on these things especially for you fertile men

me: please dont ever call me a fertile man again

Emily: haha. I will tell mallory about that one tomorrow

me: I mean, it’s true. But from you, it’s awkward. haha

Emily: sorry; no reference to your reproductive abilities ever again

me: Great, I appreciate that

Emily: go study

me: haha, alright buddy I’ll talk to you soon

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

now everyone knows you’re a fertile man! haha

Comment by Emily

Now I know, too! Haha Fertile Cy.
Cy… I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR YOU SINCE HIGH SCHOOL. It only makes sense that we should date. I promise I won’t kiss you, or even hug you, but the other couples are together! And you were my prom date after all. It’s fate.
Actually I just made that all up. I thought one awkward conversation could be improved by yet another awkward comment.
Love you. Like a brother. No like a husband. Had to clarify…

Comment by Mallory




Leave a Reply

